Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacRumors

macrumors bot
Original poster
Apr 12, 2001

MacOSXRumors claims that despite previous rumors that Apple's Intel laptops may lose their Firewire connections, Apple is expected to keep at least one Firewire port on the upcoming Intel Macs.

Instead, Apple may be increasing the number of USB connectors to the upcoming machines, but will retain at least one Firewire port.

Lacero

macrumors 604
Jan 20, 2005
Of course!

Firewire is still required to connect with digital camcorders and external firewire drives! Pro mobile video editors would storm Apple HQ if they decided to drop firewire support from Intel laptops.

If the talk is about dropping FW from the iBook, then I guess that would be ok.

rspeaker

macrumors 6502
Jan 1, 2006
I'm no pro user, but Firewire... the only reason I care about it is because Apple's really fought hard for it. They've already stopped shipping iPods with Firewire cables, and if money allows for one of the new iMacs with built-in iSight, well, I won't need Firewire anymore. I say it's a shame; it kept Apple a little different. But, for the consumer line, it doesn't seem to make too much sense to keep it around. But I bet they will, if only one port.

ZildjianKX

macrumors 68000
May 18, 2003
What about "Firewire Target Disk Mode?" That is like the coolest thing... unless they make it work with USB, unless it already does.

plastique45

macrumors regular
Jan 10, 2005
1- Macosxrumors.com just make up stuff as they go. Stop reprinting what they write.

2- 1 Firewire port is what's currently offered on the PowerBook, this is nothing new. One of FireWire's greatest asset is that you need only 1 port as all devices are hub-able.