Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SamRyouji

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 1, 2016
Dunno if there's a similar thread already, but I personally want to give a damn appreciation to this marvel of engineering.

Yes, lots of people said this is "Just a Facebook machine", "Underpowered as f**k", yadda yadda. I digress.

My own MacBook has been said otherwise. It's a beautiful rose gold, m5 Mid 2016. Been doing lots of heavy graphic design on it (Adobe CS5 on Parallels Win7 VM), photo editing with Polarr, and video rendering with DaVinci Resolve 17 with a slight or no stutterings. And it. just. works. Well, with one caveat, of course: you have to be patient when it's doing the rendering.

Here's a recent vid I've been working just to show it really works. Yes, it's just a fullHD 100fps footage. But that's what I need as of right now. I'm just a videographer and photographer for non-profit official Bodybuilding govt. org's YouTube, not doing some blockbuster Hollywood movies yet. ;)

IMG20210326175446.jpg

The bottom line is, if you're starting your own journey on creative industry, any underpowered MacBook will do compared to underpowered offerings from competitors.

And judging the powerful experience from this underpowered machine, I'm inclined to go with maxed out M1 MBA instead of upcoming 16" M1 MBP. The gold color is too captivating for my gaudy eye lol. Hoping they will offer the 12" back or make the MBA as compact as the 12".

Mike Boreham

macrumors 68040
Aug 10, 2006
UK
You're mostly "preaching to choir" in this forum! Wholeheartedly agree. You would be even happier with a 2017 maxed out pink 12" MacBook I had until recently.

I traded up to an M1 MBA 16/512 which is in a different league, but silent and fanless like the 12" MacBook.

Unless the small size is really, really important the M1 MBA is a no brainer upgrade.

Last edited:

SamRyouji

macrumors 6502
Original poster