Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Shattered68

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 11, 2023
Hey everyone,

Im new to Mac and my buddy found a 2007 iMac on the curb and gave it to me. I was following a factory reset tutorial because the person who had it last did not wipe it. So I deleted MacOS from disk utility and went to reinstall it but i cant because it makes me sign into Apple but it keeps saying try again later. I was talking to apple support and after like 3 hours of trying to download a bootable installer but when I go to install it to a usb drive nothing happens. Any help??

Bigwaff

Contributor
Sep 20, 2013
What instructions are you following to create a bootable installer on a USB drive?

MrCheeto

macrumors 68040
Nov 2, 2008
One tip that shouldn't be overlooked is that when using old OS installers, you may have to spoof the date on your machine so that it believes it is not expired. It's 2023 and I still be installing Lion n s***. Just did it last week.

Also, don't expect a lot from an '07 iMac. I suppose there's a reason it was on the curb. I'm not saying that plenty of people don't make use of them but they are from another era that has passed these Macs by. They're more of a hobby item than anything actually "useful" today.

Hombre53

macrumors regular
Feb 27, 2018
OSX Mavericks might be the last OS on that machine? It should have an internal CD? Check eBay to see if you can find OSX 10.6.8 Snow Leopard on bootable CD, one of the greatest OS'es Apple ever made. That would be a trip down memory lane.

Last edited:

MrCheeto

macrumors 68040
Nov 2, 2008
Snow Leopard is available straight from the Macintosh Garden. Free download. Should be easy to put that on a USB drive, use the disk utility to completely format the iMac’s internal drive and start fresh. You don’t want that other system’s recovery partition remaining.